"Let us labour therefore to enter into that rest." Hebrews 4:11

Rest. A hard concept to accept for a Type-A workaholic like myself. Or should I say, the self I once was...

I had a cushy government job when I decided to quit work and go back to school. Let me rephrase, I had an awesome job where I enjoyed payed holidays, paid stat days, great colleagues, coffee breaks, benefits and much more. "Why did you quit your job?" Was a question I was often asked shortly I decided to leave my position working for the federal government of Canada. Seemed even a little ludicrous for me to quit my job and go back to school at the ripe age of 29. After which I soon returned to university for two years where my classmates were on average 10 years younger then me.

I'm not sure...it was sort of a feeling in my heart. An inkling. A still, small voice in my heart...

5 years later, after two years of full time university, two part time jobs, a year of studying for the mcat, medical school applications, acceptances and rejections I look back on all the trials and struggles this journey had been wrought with and despite the sacrifices and the hardships, there is a sense of peace with the decisions I have made. Perhaps it's because through the tough times, I drew closer to God. Or perhaps it's because through the tough times I met and married my amazing husband. Or that now I have been rewarded this amazing time of rest. I can finally say that I have learned how to rest, and more so, how to enjoy it. 

I had taken a leap of faith and had landed, safely in the hands of a faithful and loving God.

Was it worth it to follow the voice in my heart I often ask myself...absolutely. I have found that in life, it is always worth it to follow your heart.

T minus 35 days until I land on Saba island.

:)




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Born and raised in beautiful Vancouver, BC. Wed on international Star Wars day and now heading off to medical school in the Caribbean.

    Archives

    November 2013

    Categories

    All