As one would expect on an island that is little more than a speck on a map, there are some things that are hard to come by here on Saba. Being a student exacerbates this many fold. Of the many comforts of home that one would miss, being able to do laundry is one that most students have to deal with. The smell of fresh, clean clothes can transport one to the heights of heaven.

Asian food...delicious, soupy, brothy Asian dishes infused with fragrances from the exotic east, spices that tease the tongue in ways that mere potatoes, broccoli and carrots simply cannot...is what I miss most. I dream of the day when I will be indulging in a bowl of Japanese ramen, Vietnamese pho or one of my mom's homemade Korean soup dishes...mmm. I could burst into song about all the bowls of soup I dream of. Tonight, however was a night where dreams were exchanged.

A bowl of hot traditional Mong soup from my neighbor in exchange for the use of my washer and dryer. It's truly amazing how one comes to appreciate the little things in life when they are separated from the abundance and riches of North American life.

One sniff of his clean laundry was enough to produce a look of euphoria on my neighbor's face. Probably similar to the one I made while eating my bowl of Mong soup. :D

Now to learn how to make this for my husband one day :)

Here on Saba, the riches of life happens in the details. So subtle and sweet that they could easily be missed. I am convinced that I will miss this place dearly once I leave.

Warning: graphic images of ravaged soup




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Born and raised in beautiful Vancouver, BC. Wed on international Star Wars day and now heading off to medical school in the Caribbean.

    Archives

    November 2013

    Categories

    All