It's now in the heat of third semester and currently block weekend...whilst studying RNA viruses I find myself saying to a friend...

"No, not yet, I haven't gotten around to reviewing the Filoviruses yet...but I can't wait! I was so into Ebola when I was a kid." 

I picture most teenage girl bedrooms being studded with posters of boybands and cool movies, reading Seventeen magazine and Cosmo, teen Edition...My room on the hand, studded with moon maps, pictures and books about Ebola, sci-fi classics like the Andromeda Strain, the Hot Zone, Michael Crichton's entire collection...even the books written under his pen name, Jeffery Hudson...

I am starting to see that a love of science truly enhances the study of medicine. I'm not quite sure how I would get through the countless, relentless hours that are spend engorged in the books otherwise. Well actually nowadays, no one reads textbooks anymore...we med students all have developed an undying, intimate relationship with our laptops which have mostly replaced textbooks and writing notes. Either way, you learn because you must...or you learn because you love to.

9 more exams stand between me, home and the end of the dreaded third semester! 

Beating med school one day at a time. 
Lisa
4/22/2016 09:11:20 am

Hey ! You haven't posted about your expierence further at Saba medical school I was wondering if you could tell me if you have completed there? How was ur expierence thus far ?

Reply
shelley
4/22/2016 10:17:28 am

Hi Lisa,

Although I love blogging, I found it hard to do so when on an island as beautiful as Saba. As much as I wish I had recorded more of my experience there, I am grateful for pursuing other down time activities, such as running. I have graduated from basic sciences and am now beginning my clinical years in the States ie. years 3 and 4. Saba has been a life changing, amazing experience, possibly the best years of my life. I enjoyed island life and medical school life equally. It is a challenging, and at times grueling journey but worth every moment if it's for you. If you have any specific questions about the curriculum of basic sciences or anything else let me know, I'd be happy to answer them. Best of luck, Shelley.

Reply
Margaret Schemmel
8/4/2016 08:02:26 am

Hi Shelley,

I'm so glad to hear that you had a positive experience attending SABA. My husband leaves to head there in December, and I would love to be able to get your two cents in terms of what to bring, ect! Look forward to hearing back when you have the moment.

Take care,
Margaret

Reply
Amanda
1/14/2018 11:21:40 am

Hello Shelley,

I'm a Canadian student who is interested in applying to Saba University for medical school. I have a few questions regarding Saba and I was wondering if I could get your email?

Thank you, in advance, for your time.

Sincerely,
Amanda

Reply
Shelley
11/8/2019 12:50:17 pm

Hi Amanda,

I'm sorry for the late reply. I haven't logged into this platform for some time. If you'd like you can email me at [email protected] if you'd like to connect.

Best of luck,

Shelley

Reply
Tim
11/8/2019 08:24:49 am

I was hoping I could pick your brain about your experience. I’m a fellow Canadian leaving a great job to pursue med school. Please email if you have a moment
Thanks

Reply
Shelley
11/8/2019 12:49:27 pm

Hi Tim,

Sure, you can reach out to me at [email protected]. Would love to hear your story.

Thanks,

Shelley

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Born and raised in beautiful Vancouver, BC. Wed on international Star Wars day and now heading off to medical school in the Caribbean.

    Archives

    November 2013

    Categories

    All